The Rainbow Connection: Debbie Harry, Kermit, Karen Carpenter

Debbie Harry & Kermit D. Frog

Background

In 1979, the song was originally performed by Kermit the Frog (Jim Henson) in The Muppet Movie. In 1981, Blondie’s Debbie Harry sang “The Rainbow Connection” in a duet with Kermit on the Muppet Show.

In 1980, the Carpenters recorded their version of the song for their “Made In America” album. However, the song was not included in the Album due to space limitations. Karen was the lead singer and the orchestra was added in 1999. Richard Carpenter released the single in 2001 and the song was included on the “As Time Goes By” album which was released in Japan on March 6, 2001 followed by a international release on April 13, 2004.

Karen Carpenter’s version of The Rainbow Connection…

Lyrics

“The Rainbow Connection”
written by Kenny Ascher and Paul Williams

Why are there so many
Songs about rainbows
And what’s on the other side
Rainbow’s are visions
They’re only illusions
And rainbows have nothing to hide
So we’ve been told and some chose to
Believe it
But I know they’re wrong wait and see

Someday we’ll find it
The Rainbow Connection
The lovers, the dreamers and me

Who said that every wish
Would be heard and answered
When wished on the morning star
Somebody thought of that
And someone believed it
And look what it’s done so far
What’s so amazing
That keeps us star gazing
What so we think we might see

Someday we’ll find it
That Rainbow Connection
The lovers the dreamers and me

Have you been half asleep
And have you heard voices
I’ve heard them calling my name
Are these the sweet sounds that called
The young sailors
I think they’re one and the same
I’ve heard it too many times to ignore it
There’s something that I’m supposed to be

Someday we’ll find it
The Rainbow Connection
The lovers, the dreamers and me

*For your reading and laughing pleasure, you may also like these related posts…

Like this post?
Share this with others…
Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Miss Moneypenny reporting for the Undercover Times

About Miss Moneypenny

Contrarian Comedienne who creates Photoshop Political Satire and comedy.

Posted on February 22, 2009, in Music Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hi Angie and Meleah,

    The debonair Kermit the Frog is my favorite muppet and we love Karen Carpenter.

    To this day, I often wonder how often Jim Henson thought to himself, It’s not easy bein’ green, I seem to have a frog in my throat? :mrgreen:

  2. I love Karen Carpenter and Kermit The Frog.

  3. I never missed the Muppet Show when it was on! Rainbow Connection is such a great song… and a blast from the past! Thanks!

  4. Hi Ane,

    Kermit and Nana sang The Rainbow Connection to teach my 4-year old Grandson how to sing Kermie’s song yesterday. Funny, he can only remember to sing, La da da da dee doo, la la da da dee da doo at the end of the song yet, he can spend hours trying to catch frogs in our frog pond… all boy, all the time! :)

  5. I love Kermit’s version of this song! :) I actually sang this as a lullaby to my daughter when she was a baby, tried singing it to my son now but he doesn’t seem to like it, but I still love it though! :)

  6. ……. sounds like a good post to me (will do)

  7. I can do a fairly good rendition of this sounding like Kermit …. then I eat a bunch of bugs and leap from lilie pad to lilly pad. I sing, sink, and then swim back to the top again. Kind of like real life ;-)

    • Hi Speedcat Hollydale,

      For some reason, I can’t get this vision out of my head… you dressed as a frog, zapping bugs, and playing dueling banjos with Kermit in the Pheppings swamp! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers