Where Have All The Cowboys Gone

Paula Cole, 1997

Background

Paula Cole, a Rockport Massachusetts songwriter/ singer, wrote the top ten hit single in 1997 to debut her self-produced album, “This Fire.”

“Where Have All the Cowboys Gone” is a song is about a woman who dreamed of being a cowboy’s wife. For a lifetime, she dreams of a cowboy to protect her and share his adventurous life with her. She marries the Cowboy of her dreams yet, she discovers her dream man doesn’t live up to her expectations. As a unhappy housewife, she asks the heavens where all the cowboys gone.

Lyrics

“Where Have All The Cowboys Gone”

Oh you get me ready in your 56 chevy
Why don’t we go sit down in the shade
Take shelter on my front porch
The dandy lion sun scorching,
Like a glass of cold lemonade
I will do the laundry if you pay all the bills

CHORUS:

Where is my John Wayne
Where is my prairie son
Where is my happy ending
Where have all the cowboys gone

Why don’t you stay the evening
Kick back and watch the TV
And I’ll fix a little something to eat
Oh I know your back hurts from working on the tractor
How do you take your coffee my sweet
I will raise the children if you pay all the bills

Chorus

I am wearing my new dress tonight
But you don’t, but you don’t even notice me
Say our goodbyes
Say our goodbyes
Say our goodbyes

We finally sold the chevy
When we had another baby
And you took the job in tennessee
You made friends at the farm
And you joined them at the bar
Almost every single day of the week
I will wash the dishes while you go have a beer

Chorus

Where is my Marlboro man
Where is his shiny gun
Where is my lonely ranger
Where have all the cowboys gone
Where have all the cowboys gone
Where have all the cowboys gone

Like this post?
Share this with others…
Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Miss Moneypenny reporting for the Undercover Times

About Miss Moneypenny

Contrarian Comedienne who creates Photoshop Political Satire and comedy.

Posted on March 2, 2009, in Music Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Definitely, one of the best tracks of the 90s!

    🙂

    • Hi Ed,

      Definitely, Paula Cole’s only top ten Billboard hit of the 90s! 🙂

      Paula’s “I Don’t Want to Wait” song, the opening theme of Dawson’s Creek, missed the top ten by one at #11.

  2. They are on the highways of America.. and a couple are semi retired in the old trailer park..although I never did smoke Marlboros..:)

  3. I think all dems cowboys is in rehab. They was at the saloon havin` beers whilst she was doin the dishes!!

  4. I love this song, but haven’t thought about it in awhile! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

